NEW DELHI: The political fervor has begun in Madhya Pradesh. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday set the stage by releasing its initial list of 39 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections.

The names were decided at the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting on Wednesday which was chaired by party chief J P Nadda and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah among other senior leaders.

The party’s decision to announce the first list of candidates underlines the significance it has attached to the upcoming five state elections.The BJP has fielded Sarla Vijendra Rawat from Sabalgarh, Priyanka Meena from Chachaoura, Lalita Yadav from Chhatarpur, Anchal Sonkar from Jabalpur Purba (SC), Nirmala Bhuriya from Petlawad, Bhanu Bhuriya from Jhabua (ST), Alok Sharma from Bhopal Uttar and Dhruv Narayan Singh from Bhopal Madhya, among others.

In the 2018 polls, BJP lost in both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh. However, it clawed back to office in Bhopal, taking advantage of dissension in Congress and its precarious majority.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here