On the sun-soaked sands of Sharjah, UAE, the year 1984 marked the inception of a remarkable journey—the cricket Asia Cup. With cricketing giants like India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka taking center stage, the tournament unfolded in a captivating round-robin format, captivating fans across the globe.
However, this gripping narrative transcends the realm of sporting excellence. The storyline bears the imprint of political tensions and scheduling clashes, causing the event to slumber from 1991 to 1995 and again from 2004 to 2008. Each pause carried a longing for the triumphant return of this cricketing spectacle.
Amidst the battles, a constellation of records emerged. Sanath Jaysuriya’s name shines as an emblem of brilliance, reigning as the top scorer in Asia Cup history with an astonishing 1220 runs across 24 innings.

The Overall Leading Run-Getters in Asia Cup (ODIs) history:

Sanath Jayasuriya 24 1220 130
Kumar Sangakkara 23 1075 121
Sachin Tendulkar 21 971 114

Indian chase master Virat Kohli is just three centuries away from equalling Sachin Tendulkar‘s all-time record of 49 ODI centuries. He could well do that in this edition of the Asia Cup. Overall, Virat’s brilliance takes center stage as he inscribed his name in cricketing history, notching up his highest ODI score and the highest individual score of the tournament – 183 off 148 deliveries at a strike rate of 123.64 at the Asia Cup in 2012. This knock, which included 22 fours and 1 six, helped India chase down a mammoth 330 run target against Pakistan. Virat, who also took 2 catches in that match of course walked away with the Man of the Match award.
Asia Cup’s (ODIs) Individual Top Scorers:

Virat Kohli 183 148 123.64 22/1
Younis Khan 144 122 118.03 8/3
Mushifiqur Rahim 144 150 96.00 11/4

As far as highest team totals are concerned, Pakistan etched their dominance with a monumental team total of 385/7 in 50 overs against Bangladesh in Dambulla in 2010.
Highest Team Totals in the Asia Cup (ODIs):

Pakistan 385/7 7.70 Bangladesh
India 374/4 7.48 Hong Kong
Sri Lanka 357/9 7.14 Bangladesh

As far as wickets are concerned, Muttiah Muralitharan’s artistry stands unparalleled with 30 wickets in 24 innings. The crescendo of records reached its zenith with Ajantha Mendis’ impeccable figures—a mesmerizing 6/13 in 8 overs vs India at an economy rate of 1.62, leaving spectators in the stadium in Karachi and across the world mesmerised.
Leading Wicket-Takers in the Asia Cup (ODIs):

Muttiah Muralitharan 24 30 3.75
Lasith Malinga 14 29 4.65
Ajantha Mendis 8 26 3.98

Overall Sri Lanka emerges with the crown of the highest win percentage in Asia Cup history in the ODI format—a resounding 68% across 50 matches since the inaugural ODI edition.
Teams with the best win percentages in the Asia Cup (ODIs):

Sri Lanka 50 34/16 68.00% 0
India 49 31/16 63.26% 2
Pakistan 45 26/18 57.77% 1

Above all, Team India stands as a towering figure, etching their legacy with six Asia Cup titles—a shimmering testament to their cricketing glory. As the years unfurl, the Asia Cup’s script continues to evolve. The 2015-16 chapter rewrote the history books as the tournament embraced the T20 format, marking a pivotal moment in cricket history.
From its inception to modern transformations, the Asia Cup continues to unite cricketing nations, unraveling its chapters of passion, records, and camaraderie in the annals of the sport’s history.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here