NEW DELHI: Rain played a spoilsport but India managed to eke out a two-run win via DLS method in the series opener against Ireland in Dublin on Friday. Returning to international cricket after a long 11-month injury lay-off, skipper Jasprit Bumrah headlined in India’s win as the team took a 1-0 lead against the Irish in the three-match series.
After Bumrah-led bowling attack restricted Ireland to a below-par 139 for 7, India were placed at 47 for 2 in the 7th over when the heavens opened up. However, courtesy a strong start provided by openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad, India remained ahead on the DLS par score.
As the defiant rain continued, the two umpires after waiting for over an hour and consulting with both the captains declared India winners.
1st T20I – As It Happened
Here’s a look at the key moments in the game that helped India emerge winners in the series opener.
Bumrah’s two-wicket opening burst

(Photo credit: BCCI)
A returning Jasprit Bumrah (2/24) kicked off the proceedings in style for India, striking twice in the very first over of the match. After Andrew Balbirnie (4) chopped on the second-ball into the match, Lorcan Tucker (0) played a horrible shot off Bumrah to only get caught by keeper Sanju Samson fifth-ball of the over. The two wickets in the Bumrah first over put pressure straightaway on the hosts after they were put in to bat.

Irish tottering in Powerplay
After Bumrah provided an excellent start, debutant Prasidh Krishna (2/32) and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi (2/23) continued to push back the Irish further inside the Powerplay. Both Prasidh and Ravi grabbed a wicket each as Ireland found themselves reeling at 27 for 4 in 5.2 overs. Soon after the Powerplay finished, Prasidh got rid of George Dockrell (1) as well as the hosts’ slide continued.
The Campher, McCarthy fight


(Photo credit: Ireland Cricket)
After a terrible start, Ireland no.5 Curtis Campher (39) dug in and arrested Ireland’s slide along with Mark Adair. The duo added 28 runs for the sixth wicket but Ravi Bishnoi then got rid of Adair (16) with the help of a review in the 11th over. Campher then stitched a terrific 57-run stand with Barry McCarthy (51 not out) for the seventh wicket, avoiding a complete collapse. Towards the end McCarthy, smacked lusty blows, that included a 22-run final over from Arshdeep Singh (1/35) to take his side to a respectable total.
India’s calculated start
While the 140 target was never a big ask, Yashasvi Jaiswal (24) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (19 not out) started cautiously in overcast conditions. As pacers Joshua Little, Barry McCarthy and Mark Adair asked a few questions with the moving ball, Jaiswal and Gaikwad kept the scoreboard moving with some attractive stroke play. As India reached 45 for no loss at the end of Powerplay, rain started to trickle down.
Rain has the final say


(Photo credit: BCCI)
Craig Young did shake up India a bit straight after powerplay, removing Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma (0) off successive balls but as rain got heavier, the umpires were forced to stop the play. When the play was halted, India were 2 runs ahead of the DLS par score. After waiting for close to an hour for the rain to stop, the umpires eventually decided to call off the match. With India, ending ahead of DLS par score, they were declared winners. With the win, India now lead the 3-match series 1-0.

AI cricket

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here